Pastoral Report Archives:

March, 2005

February, 2005

January, 2005

December, 2004

November, 2004

October, 2004

September, 2004

August, 2004

July, 2004

June, 2004

The College of Pastoral Supervision & Psychotherapy is a theologically based covenant community, dedicated to "recovery of the soul" and promoting competency in the clinical pastoral field.

« ACPE Claim is False | Main | A Report from COMISS: Kaohomni (ga-oh-ho-mnee)the circle by Barbara A. McGuire »

December 7, 2004


The COMISS Network meeting in Alexandria Sunday and Monday, December 5 and 6, was a stunning victory for collegiality and mutual respect in the various pastoral care and counseling communities.

A major focus of the meeting was the report on the self-appointed and misnamed "Council on Collaboration." The Collaboration group had publicly announced its select list of approved certifying and accrediting organizations, listing as legitimate only those organizations that had been invited to participate in the discussions, and refusing entrance to other organizations that requested invitations, such as CPSP.

At the COMISS meeting the monopolistic claims of the Collaboration group were soundly repudiated, and COMISS called for a discussion of the issues that will be open now to all COMISS members.

The delegates from the various religious groups (called the Religious Endorsing Bodies or "REBS") actually created this victory for collegiality. They made the proposal to open any further discussions, such as that engaged in by the Collaboration group, to all COMISS members. And they raised objections to the closed meetings that had been held by the Collaboration group.

Richard Liew nominated for the position of Chair of COMISS, the Rev. Dr. George A. Langhorne, the REB rep from the American Baptists. He was elected with enthusiasm.

We believe we should anticipate a new spirit of collegial relationships in COMISS in the period ahead. The import of this sea change should not be minimized. The CPSP community is indebted to the leadership both of COMISS and the REBs for its faithfulness to the principles of collegiality and mutual respect.

The official CPSP delegates to this meeting of COMISS were Richard Liew, Jim Gebhart, Ken Blank, and George Hull. These four did a magnificent job of
representing CPSP concerns, and speaking in favor of COMISS as an open forum where various religious and philosophical persuasions meet at the same table. The CPSP community owes these four delegates a debt of gratitude

-Raymond J. Lawrence

Posted by Perry Miller, Editor at December 7, 2004 4:41 PM

Email this article to a friend

Email this entry to:

Your email address:

Message (optional):

Print this entry